Express Entry

Author: Mock Webware |

‘Express Entry’ [EE] system is a 2-step application management process which will cover the following Immigration programs. Applicants must meet all the criteria for one of the below programs before entering this system.

First step is to build a profile in the system. The candidate receives points on the Ranking System for some factors such as work experience, language proficiency, education, etc. Then these factors are ranked to other applicants in the pool based on criteria. The Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) is a detailed 1200 point grid, with points which break-down as follows:

Second, candidates are issued an “Invitation to Apply” (ITA) for permanent residence. The ITA would be based on either direct selection by a Canadian employer or reaching a certain rank or a combination of both. Candidates will have deadline to file an Application for permanent residence with supporting documentation and receive a visa in less time.

Federal Skilled Trades Program:

The new FSTC is for selected persons with work experience in the occupational areas like Industrial, Electrical and Construction Trades; Maintenance and Equipment Operation Trades; Supervisors and Technical Occupations in Natural Resources, Agriculture and Related Production; Processing, Manufacturing and Utilities Supervisors and Central Control Operators; as well as Chefs and Cooks, and Bakers and Butchers.

In this system applicants are assessed based on a set of criteria and they need to meet all the criteria to be selected.

The occupations are identified through the National Occupational Classification (NOC) and they are considered at Level ‘B’ skills.


This is a new program which IRCC has announced it to be launched in May, 2013. the Federal Skilled worker Class covers applicants with either university education (professionals), who have indicated skills or experience in their profession or occupation and have the ability to independently adapt to Canadian workforce. In this program both self-employed and the employed persons can apply as Skilled worker who meet the occupational requirements.

The selection is based on a Grid and a Point system. The applicants are assessed on 6 factors like Age, Education, Length of Experience, Proficiency in Official Languages (English/ French), Arranged Employment and Adaptability. Points are awarded to each individual for each of these factors, as per the Points system. An applicant with a total score more than the Pass mark can apply to this program.

There will be additional points for ‘Arranged employment‘ like a job offer from a qualified Canadian employer.

Maximum point is 100 points and The current pass mark is 67. The Pass mark may be re-set by the department from time to time.

Canadian Experience Class (CEC)

According to Federal program, Current and past temporary residents (Temporary Foreign Workers and International Students) of Canada can apply for permanent residence.

This is a pass/fail system and well-defined, objective criteria enable conclusion of majority of Applications quickly and in most cases, there is no need for personal interview.


  • The applicant must have had a valid temporary status during the qualifying period.
  • The applicant must have worked in Canada for at least 12 months in the last 3 years. (Co-op or Off-campus work experience is not accepted).
  • The occupation must be in NOC Skill level 0, OR A/B list.
  • Depending upon their occupation, applicants must achieve the minimum level in a designated language test, like IELTS, CELPIP, TEF.
  • Your presence in Canada or Current valid status at the time of applying is not a requirement for this program.

Provincial Nominee Programs:

There are immigration programs of Canadian provinces, Except Quebec. all these programs are referred to as Provincial Nominee Programs (PNP). Useful details of Provincial Nominee Programs (PNPs) there are criteria’s that must be met by all PNPs in order to succeed. Generally, the provinces need immigrant to show a strong possibility of long-term settlement in the province.

The PNPs have provision for different groups of applicants. Many PNPs have points system for evaluation and exact number of points are required before applying. However, achieving the qualifying points does not guarantee to be selected.

At present, all the following provinces and territories of Canada have active PNPs:

  • Alberta Immigrant Nominee Program (AINP)
  • British Columbia Provincial Nominee Program (BC PNP)
  • Manitoba Provincial Nominee Program (MPNP)
  • New Brunswick Provincial Nominee Program (NBPNP)
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Provincial Nominee Program (NLPNP)
  • Nova Scotia Nominee Program (NSNP)
  • Ontario Immigrant Nominee Program (OINP)
  • Prince Edward Island Provincial Nominee Program (PEI PNP)
  • Saskatchewan Immigrant Nominee Program (SINP)
  • Northwest Territories Nominee Program (NTNP)
  • Yukon Nominee Program (YNP)
  • Quebec Nominee Program (PNP)


  • Canada International
  • Federal Government of Canada
  • Ontario Government

Provincial Government

  • Alberta
  • British Columbia
  • Yukon
  • Saskatchewan
  • Quebec
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Ontario
  • Nunavut
  • Nova Scotia
  • NorthWest Territories
  • Newfoundland & Labrador
  • New Brunswick
  • Manitoba


  • City of Vancouver
  • Vancouver
  • City of Toronto
  • Toronto
  • City of Montreal
  • Montreal
  • City of Ottawa
  • Ottawa
  • City of Edmonton
  • Edmonton
  • City of Calgary
  • Calgary


  • General Directory of Canadian Newspapers
  • Montreal Gazette
  • Globe & Mail
  • Toronto Star


  • Yahoo Job Site
  • Workopolis
  • Jobboom
  • Monster
  • Job Set – Government sponsored
  • Careerjet
  • Indeed Canada
  • Job Bank – Government sponsored

Current Weather – Major cities of Canada

  • Vancouver
  • Toronto
  • Ottawa
  • Montreal
  • Calgary